This is a past event. Registration is closed. View other African Association of Agricultural Economics events.
Akinwumi Adesina (President at African Development Bank)

Akinwumi Adesina

President at African Development Bank

Dr. Akinwumi "Akin" Adesina is the President of the African Development Bank. He previously served as Nigeria's Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development. Until his appointment as Minister in 2010, he was Vice President of Policy and Partnerships for the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA). In 2015, he was elected as the President of the African Development Bank. He was the first Nigerian to hold the post.

Gbolagade Ayoola (President at Farm & Infrastructure Foundation)

Gbolagade Ayoola

President at Farm & Infrastructure Foundation

FIF is the final outcome of a protracted internal monologue and the high power of analytical thought of its founder, Professor G. B. Ayoola, following the several years of policy research on the agricultural economy. It was found that the successive failures of agricultural policies in Nigeria and other countries of Africa were as much due to an inadequate technology environment as also to an unfavourable policy environment. Formally with University of Agriculture Makurdi, Nigeria, Ayoola is professor of agricultural economics and policy, currently promoting the right to food in Nigeria through public-sprited policy advocacy, knowledge-driven policy brokerage and evidence-based policy action research.

Cheryl Doss (Associate Professor at Oxford University)

Cheryl Doss

Associate Professor at Oxford University

Cheryl Doss is a development economist whose research focusses on issues related to assets, agriculture and gender with a regional focus on sub-Saharan Africa.

Uma Lele (President-elect at International Association of Agricultural Economists)

Uma Lele

President-elect at International Association of Agricultural Economists

The first woman to be awarded a Ph. D. in agricultural economics by Cornell University. Uma Lele was elected President Elect of the International Association of Agricultural Economists (IAAE) in July 2018. Since leaving services of the World Bank she has operated as an independent scholar and development economist and is affiliated with the Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi. She has five decades of experience in research, operations, policy analysis, and evaluation in the World Bank, universities and international organizations

Edward Mabaya (President at African Association of Agricultural Economists)

Edward Mabaya

President at African Association of Agricultural Economists

Dr. Edward Mabaya is a scholar and a development practitioner with more than two decades of experience working on agricultural development and food security issues in Africa. Motivated by childhood experiences growing up in rural Zimbabwe, he is involved in several programs that seek to improve the lives of African farmers through agriculture.

Njuguna Ndung

Njuguna Ndung'u

Executive Director of African Economic Research Consortium (AERC)

Njuguna S. Ndung'u is the Executive Director of the African Economic Research Consortium based in Kenya. Before joining AERC, he held the position of Kenya's Central Bank Governor, from 2007 until March 2015. He holds a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Gothenburg, Sweden, and master's and bachelor's degrees in economics from the University of Nairobi. Prior to his appointment as Governor of the Central Bank of Kenya, Prof. Ndung'u held positions at the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC), the University of Nairobi where he taught advanced economic theory and econometrics, the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), and the Kenya Institute of Public Policy Research and Analysis (KIPPRA). Prof. Ndung'u has an extensive policy, research, and teaching expertise in macroeconomics, microeconomics, econometrics, and poverty reduction.

Nick Vink (President at International Association of Agricultural Economists)

Nick Vink

President at International Association of Agricultural Economists

Prof. Nick Vink is the President of the International Association of Agricultural Economists. Nick is also the Chair, Department of Agricultural Economics, University of Stellenbosch. Nick was the 3rd President of the AAAE and the current out-going Editor of the African Journal of Agricultural and Resource Economics. Prof Nick Vink joined the University of Stellenbosch as professor in agricultural economics in 1996 after 11 years at the Development Bank of Southern Africa. He is an agricultural economist specialising in agricultural and rural development policy, land reform and empowerment, agricultural marketing, tax and international trade issues. He was President of the Agricultural Economics Association of South Africa (AEASA) in 1991 and 1992, and served as Editor of its Journal, Agrekon, from 2001-2010.